mini-adventures

Back when I lived in the apartment complex a few blocks from ACC & my old job…I would go on walks a  lot. It was a fairly nice area.  Once I followed the train tracks & discovered the IBM complex behind a woodsy area.   They have a tennis court for their employees & a nice pond & it was just really beautiful & secret, kind of hidden away.   There was in fact a no trespassing sign when approaching from the street. However…approaching from the direction of the railroad tracks, there were no such signs.  That was something I planned on mentioning if Bryan & I were approached by security =)

I also walked up on a raccoon playing in a stream one time.  Crappy, blurry photo from my phone:

All these places were all kind of on the way to Sodade, a coffee place I used to frequent.  (Speaking of which, I miss good coffee. Drinking Folger’s instant coffee from the tea bag things makes me feel kind of dirty & yuck..but I was having some caffeine withdrawal so yeah).

Anyhow, oneday I thought I’d do something different, walk a different path- check out the streets on the other side of ACC. There was supposedly a park around.  I did find it & it was kind of small & I couldn’t really figure out how to get from one side to the other since the bridge was out.  Not ready to go home yet, I decided to walk to the comic book store that I thought was nearby.  So, I walked and walked…and walked.  Suddenly, I became a bit nervous I had my camera with me, ’cause the neighborhood wasn’t that great. I tried to hide it in my pocket & I walked a little more quickly.

Finally, feeling  sweaty & gross & very thirsty, I arrived!  I thought I might surprise Bryan with something Batman related.. I think I did in fact purchase some Batman magnets along with some Transmetropolitan & Fables reading material =)

Afterward, I was still thirsty, famished & a bit too tired to walk home (if I could help it).  I saw a little restaurant nearby & called Bryan & asked him to meet me there.

I was the only customer & the people were SO nice!  I think it’s a family owned operation because every time I go there, it’s the same 2 nice people =)

I had the most scrumptious tuna fish sandwich ever (great pickles are apparently a key ingredient). I do not exaggerate – the people asked me about 8 different questions to make my sandwich as customized as possible.   Bryan arrived & ordered this (the beef kabob) —>

Very good stuff.  I miss that place immensely.   It is called Delta’s Restaurant. They’re open pretty late which is great when you work crazy hours.  I just hope they don’t close down. =/ There’s never many people there when I go in but again, I go in at weird times.

Today though, I am going Goodwill shopping for my Halloween costume! I’m so excited. October is my favorite time of year,  when you can start feeling a bit of the cold weather at night, and the air just smells different.  And no, I’m not telling you what I’m going to be for Halloween, ’cause that’s a surprise. Maybe I’ll get to stop in @ Delta’s today though.  Oh and the Asian market that finally got opened nearby. I guess it all depends on if I stop being lazy & get stuff done around here so I can go.

I shall finish my coffee off & start the playlist now..

Leave a comment

Filed under adventure, Uncategorized

Leave a comment